Global Mapper v25.0

How to remove extra "noise" from LiDAR?

Swoody
Swoody Global Mapper UserTrusted User
I've got all extra stuff (noise?) in the sky of my LiDAR file.  Any suggestions of how to remove it / clean it up?? 

Also, never really sure the best place to put LIDAR questions, since there is not a specific topic for them. I guess Vector data works??

Thanks!! 
Sara

Tagged:

Answers

• bmg_bob
    bmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer
    Hello Sara,

Have you tried the Auto-classify Noise Points function on the Lidar toolbar?

Cheers,

Bob
  • Swoody
    Swoody Global Mapper User Trusted User
    Thanks Bob. I have never tried it before. Thus far Auto-classify Noise Points crashes my PC every time, which is a pretty powerful beast. Even tried it in small sections, but no luck. Most times it just crashes, but one time got this message: "Runtime Error! R6025 - pure virtual function call"  Aargh. 

• Swoody
    I am using the latest build of 17.1  (April 19 build)
  • bmg_bob
    bmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer
    Swoody said:
    Thanks Bob. I have never tried it before. Thus far Auto-classify Noise Points crashes my PC every time, which is a pretty powerful beast. Even tried it in small sections, but no luck. Most times it just crashes, but one time got this message: "Runtime Error! R6025 - pure virtual function call"  Aargh. 

Have you reported this to Blue Marble Geographics Support (geohelp@bluemarblegeo.com)?

Cheers,

Bob
  • Swoody
    Going to do more testing, then report. It may not just be able to handle the size of the file. I'm able to get a smaller file to not crash. Thanks Bob!
  • Swoody
    edited May 2016