Global Mapper v25.0

Importing XVOD

Dear Forum,

I'm a novice to GM and trying to import and create a worldwide XVOD database/catalogue to overlay on the existing DTED data I already have (successfully) imported.

However when I try to Create a New Map Catalog and Add Directory to add all files in folders and subfolders, GM requests me to select the Overlay Type (from a large list) as the type "could not be determined from the filename".  

Can somebody help me establish what type I ought to select? I have attached a sample XVOD file in case it helps.  I have tried selecting (randomly) different file types and although GM performs some process it seems to fall down at the end.

Can anybody advise? 

Answers

• bmg_bob
    bmg_bob Global Mapper Programmer
    What is an XVOD database?  I don't see an attachment on your post.
  • Hi Bob,

Thanks for your reply. 

Firstly after writing the message, I tried to attached a sample file however when I selected the "Attach image/file" icon I only have the option to add an "Image URL". Perhaps you can advise how I ought to add a file? The sample filesize is just over 3MB.

Regarding XVOD I made the (silly) assumption that it was a known format. However XVOD (XML Vertical Obstruction Data) is specific to the Military. . 

Here is an extract from a supporting document explaining further:

"XVOD was initially designed by the UK Defence Geographic Centre (DGC) in response to a request from Industry for an XML format to store obstacles world wide where known for Mission Planning and Avionics systems. The XVOD XML syntax is described in various associated XSD files.  To some extent, these specify the content of XVOD. 

The XVOD data is split into 64 800 individual 1° x 1° tiles along whole lines of latitude and longitude of the latest formulation of the WGS 84 datum and ellipsoid, with each tile contained with its own file.