Global Mapper v25.0

How to show meters count in a track (kml imported from Google Earth)

peret2000
peret2000 Global Mapper User
edited November 2011 in Vector Data
Hello, I am not an expert so excuse if I explain badly.
I have imported a kml route file from Google earth, and I can see it as a layer in global mapper.
I want to export my map as a ECW file (raster data, I think). But I would like to enrich the final image, showing kilometers of my route: I mean, close to kilometer 1 of my route, I would like to see something like 'Km 1'.
Can this be done modifying characteristics of the route? I have looked for it in tutorials, but I haven't found. And also, trying with digitizer tool, with no success.

Comments

• global_mapper
    global_mapper Administrator
    edited October 2011
    You can do this with the Digitizer Tool. Select the line, then right-click and select the Advanced Feature Creation submenu option to create points along the line and specify the desired space (like 1 kilometer). You should then get numbered points along the line.

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Mike
    Global Mapper Support
    support@globalmapper.com
  • peret2000
    edited October 2011
    Thanks a lot, Mike. That is exactly what I was looking for. Now, it is a question of investigating a bit to have the desired colour, position, etc.
  • peret2000
    edited October 2011
    Hello,
    Finally, I am trying to export the map as a raster map, ECW. The problem is ,although I am showing the points layer (it is called a user defined layer or something similar), the ecw map shows the points, but does not show the letters in the points (the distances).

Maybe this is a problem I have when rendering maps, as I also experienced the (I think) same issue when printing another map: it printed only one layer (a route layer, indeed), but it did not print the map itself, although it was visible.

It must be an easy thing, but I cannot solve it.