Global Mapper v25.0

need suggestions!!! - loading LiDAR file fail

mkangas
mkangas Global Mapper User
edited June 2013 in Technical Support
This is my first time loading Lidar data - (using GM ver 12)
downloaded file from Ohio Gov site for Jefferson county, have proper projection setting (confirmed by Ohio Gov GIS rep) however I cannot get it to import into the correct location. Because it is very time-consuming to get this file in, and am out of ideas, I hoping for some suggestions.

Am I just doing this wrong?
  • I am opening data files, selecting LiDAR file (.las) and inserting using the specified projection.
(pulled from metadata:<identCode Sync="TRUE">NAD_1983_HARN_StatePlane_Ohio_North_FIPS_3401</identCode>)
  • I am selecting point cloud, preview setting and ground shots only
(GM still runs out of memory every other attempt even with these minimum settings)

Every time the file falls south and east of where it should lay.
Thank you for any input....

Comments

• Jasmine_BMG
    Jasmine_BMG BMG Staff
    edited June 2013
    mkangas wrote: »
    This is my first time loading Lidar data - (using GM ver 12)
    downloaded file from Ohio Gov site for Jefferson county, have proper projection setting (confirmed by Ohio Gov GIS rep) however I cannot get it to import into the correct location. Because it is very time-consuming to get this file in, and am out of ideas, I hoping for some suggestions.

Am I just doing this wrong?
    • I am opening data files, selecting LiDAR file (.las) and inserting using the specified projection.
    (pulled from metadata:<identCode Sync="TRUE">NAD_1983_HARN_StatePlane_Ohio_North_FIPS_3401</identCode>)
    • I am selecting point cloud, preview setting and ground shots only
    (GM still runs out of memory every other attempt even with these minimum settings)

Every time the file falls south and east of where it should lay.
    Thank you for any input....

Hello,